Kitchen Table Theology

098 Eschatology: Seals, Trumpets, and Bowls, Oh, My! (Part One)

March 13, 2022 Pastor Jeff Cranston Episode 98
Kitchen Table Theology
098 Eschatology: Seals, Trumpets, and Bowls, Oh, My! (Part One)
Show Notes

What does the Bible mean when it talks about dispensing God’s judgment on the earth in the tribulation through seals, trumpets, and bowls? In this episode of Kitchen Table Theology, Pastor Jeff Cranston and Jen Denton talk about what each series signify and how the created earth and all beings will experience the Tribulation, God’s judgment, and wrath. 

This is Part 1 of explaining the Three Series of Judgements. Next episode we’ll cover the Seventh Trumpet blast and the Wrath of Seven Bowls.  

[00:01]  The Three Series of Judgments 

  • During the Tribulation, there will be three series of judgments or divine wraths, and the majority of these will occur during the first three and a half years of the tribulation
    • Seven Seals
    • Seven Trumpet blasts and three woes 
    • Seven Wrath of Bowls

[07:14] The First Set – The Seven Seals   

  • Seal One: A rider on a white horse (Daniel 7, 8, and 11)
  • Seal Two: A rider on a red horse representing the conflict of war  
  • Seal Three: A rider on a black horse which represents the famine due to the war
  • Seal Four: A rider on a green or pale horse representing death due to the war (Matt 24) 
  • Seal Five: The early martyrs 
  • Seal Six: A vision of the time of their vengeance 
  • Seal Seven: Silence in Heaven 
  • 144,000 Jews will be kept safe from the wrath of the anti-Christ (Rev 7:4) 
    • their mission seems to be to evangelize the post-rapture world, the tribulation world, and proclaim the Gospel during the tribulation period

[15:27]  The Second Set – Seven Trumpet Blasts and Three Woes

  • The first four trumpet blasts will take place on earth and the first half of the tribulation
    • One: Will destroy vegetation, fuel, and food 
    • Two: A volcanic eruption
    • Three: A meteorite collision with Earth
    • Four: The curtailment of celestial light 
  • The last three trumpet judgments have accompanying woes affecting the entire Earth
    • Five: The torment of unsaved humans inflicted by demons (Rev 8:13)
    • Six: The slaughter of people 
    • Seven: Jesus rules and reigns forevermore


[21:21] Closing Up 


Key Quotes

“Each of these three judgment series all have symbolism. They're used to describe God's judgment upon sinful, Christ-rejecting men and women of the Earth. Each judgment is progressively worse and they all culminate in the battle of Armageddon.” - Pastor Jeff Cranston 


Join the Conversation

We love your feedback! If you enjoyed this episode, leave us a review. If you have any questions or comments on today’s episode, email me at

Visit my website and subscribe to my newsletter. Join me on Sunday mornings at LowCountry Community Church

Check-in with us on Facebook or Instagram @pastorjeffcranston

Remember, the real power of theology is not only knowing it but applying it. Thanks for listening!