Three Books

Episode 12: Three Books and Several Bookstores

September 29, 2018 Episode 12
Three Books
Episode 12: Three Books and Several Bookstores
Chapters
Three Books
Episode 12: Three Books and Several Bookstores
Sep 29, 2018 Episode 12
Three Books
Three Books is Ela Area Public Library’s podcast series where our hosts, Becca and Christen, chat about three popular/favorite books.
Show Notes

 Three Books is Ela Area Public Library’s podcast series where our hosts, Becca and Christen, chat about three popular/favorite books. Laura Dooley-Taylor, talks about growing up a school librarian’s daughter, and nerdy book experiences. Becca thinks everything is lovely. Come on an indie bookshop tour with us! 

00:28 Meet Laura Dooley Taylor
 01:40 How she chose her books 
 02:12 Book 1: Christina Katerina and The Box 
 07:34 Book 2: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn 
 11:23 The Great American Reads List 
 13:30 Book 3- A Man Called Ove 
 17:17 Other books by Frederik Backman 
 18:50 Laura’s first library experience 
 21:26 Christen’s Birthday Bookstore tour 
 24:30 Favorite Bookstores in Chicago 
 32:39 Cool Bookstores outside of IL 
 41:46 Bucket List Bookstores 
 45:02 Laura’s Book Quote 

 Laura’s Three Books: 
 Christina Katerina and the Box by Patricia Lee Gauch 
 A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith 
 A Man called Ove by Fredrik Backman 

 Other Titles/Information Discussed: 
 Not A Box by Antoinette Portis 
 Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell 
 PBS - Great American Reads - http://www.pbs.org/the-great-american-read/home/ 
 Beartown by Fredrik Backman 
 Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman 
 My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry by Fredrik Backman 
 Ramona Quimby Series by Beverly Cleary 
 Have You Seen Hyacinth Macaw by Patricia Reilly Giff 

 Indie Bookstores: 
 Town House Books - St. Charles, IL - http://www.townhousebooks.com/ 
 The Book Cellar - Chicago, IL (Lincoln Square) - https://www.bookcellarinc.com/ 
 Women & Children First - Chicago, IL (Andersonville) - https://www.womenandchildrenfirst.com 
 Book Riot - Chicago Bookstore Day Challenge - https://bookriot.com/2018/04/27/chicagos-bookstore-day-challenge/ 
 Map - https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewer?mid=1ck7GmN_ItXd7JwKc860yHjuN_AU&ll=41.9366125454651%2C-87.66829617987128&z=12 Independent Bookstore Day - http://www.indiebookstoreday.com 
 Anderson’s Bookshop - https://www.andersonsbookshop.com 
 Read Between the Lynes - Woodstock, IL - https://www.readbetweenthelynes.com 
 InkLink Books - East Troy, WI - https://easttroy.org/business/inklink-books/ 
 2894 On Main - East Troy, WI (restaurant) - https://www.2894onmain.com 
 East Troy Railroad Museum - East Troy, WI - https://www.easttroyrr.org 
 The Elegant Farmer - Mukwonago, WI - https://www.elegantfarmer.com 
 Square Books - Oxford, MS - https://www.squarebooks.com 
 The Dial Bookshop - Chicago, IL (Downtown) - https://www.dialbookshop.com 
 Russian Tea Time - https://russianteatime.com 
 Powell’s Books - Chicago, IL & Portland, OR - https://www.powells.com 
 Best Indie Bookstores by State Lists (it turns out there are tons of these lists): 
 Book Riot - https://bookriot.com/2017/04/28/book-riots-favorite-bookstores-in-all-50-states-dc/ 
 Huffington Post - https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/50-of-the-best-indie-bookstores-in-america_us_58fe472ae4b06b9cb9192bb3 
 Real Simple - https://www.realsimple.com/work-life/travel/local-bookstores 
 Books & Brews - Indianapolis, IN - https://www.booksnbrews.com 
 Books & Books - Miami, FL - https://booksandbooks.com 
 Carmichael’s Bookstore - Louisville, KY - https://www.carmichaelsbookstore.com 
 Chinatown|Chicago Public Library - https://www.chipublib.org/locations/20/ 
 Ch