Wrestle Chop: WWE Wrestling Podcast

Did CM Punk Push Jey Uso Too Far?! - WrestleChop Podcast

Ken - Wrestle Chop

Use Left/Right to seek, Home/End to jump to start or end. Hold shift to jump forward or backward.

0:00 | 23:28

Send us Fan Mail

Support the Channel through Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/wrestlechop

For business related inquiries contact me at: 
wrestlechop@outlook.com

Things got extremely personal on Monday Night RAW when CM Punk went straight for the emotions of the Bloodline to get under the skin of Roman Reigns.

Instead of calling Roman out directly, Punk verbally attacked Jey Uso and Jimmy Uso, even bringing up their uncle in a moment that instantly escalated the tension. Jey Uso exploded in anger as Punk pushed every button possible to send a message to Roman Reigns.

But after the punch was thrown, did the segment lose some of its momentum? Was this a glimpse of the intense “right hand man” version of Jey Uso again, or just another step toward the inevitable CM Punk vs Roman Reigns clash?

We break down everything from this RAW segment and what it means moving forward.

Also on the show:

The Judgment Day implodes as Finn Bálor is kicked out of the group.

Oba Femi vs Rusev continues to build momentum.

A women’s gauntlet match determines the next Intercontinental Championship contender.

Lots to unpack from RAW tonight. Let’s talk about it.

Socials:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wrestlechop1/
X/Twitter: https://x.com/WrestleChop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WrestleChop
2nd YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/@WrestleChopPlus

Support the show

SPEAKER_00

So close, this close to a really good ending to Monday Night Raw. But instead, it just got awkward as the credits rolled and CM Punk just sat on his butt. No, for real, this was it was so good. It was so good. We even got the right hand man Jay Uso. I love right hand man Jay Uso. I'm not a fan so much of Yeet Jey Uso. And this was the J. This was the J that I've been wanting for a long time. He was here, but yeah, it just ended. It just the credits just rolled, and that was it. That was it. We'll talk more about that later. This is your one take, one shot Monday Night Raw review. This is a world championship. All you gotta do to win it is comment below and subscribe to the channel. At 20,000 subscribers, I'm gonna give away this belt. It's it'll be free to anybody, anywhere in the world, even. So if you live in in Ghondda, I will I'll I'll mail it to you. South America, I'll mail it to you. Anywhere. Australia. I actually mailed one to Australia one time. It's not a toy, it's a replica. You can win it. Alright, so let's talk. Let's talk Monday night raw. Because this was kind of it wasn't that good of an episode. I mean, it wasn't it wasn't like uh horrible, but it wasn't like it wasn't must see TV, with the exception of maybe one segment. One segment was really good, and that was the judgment day. They finally, they finally exploded! The judgment day is over. We had we had dirty Dom come out and he was mad. He was mad. He was like, Finn Balor, get out here. And he had Liv Morgan and Raquel Rodriguez already there. JD had gone to find Finn Balor. Dom had said I I wanted to, I didn't want to air this out in front of everybody, but come on, let's go. Finn Balor comes down and he's like, he's like, Dom, if you want to ever be the greatest mysterious, then you're gonna have to, you're gonna have to do things on your own. Otherwise, maybe you are just a spoiled, and then they bleeped it out. So I don't know exactly what he said, but probably just a spoiled brat, something like that. And then Dom attacks him. He attacks Finn Balor. Finn Balor gets his comeback as everybody's just like watching, oh my god, what do we do? But then as Finn is about to run at uh, well, he's running at Dom and boom, JD clotheslines him, which then allows for a total beatdown of Finn Balor and Judgment Day stand tall. I mean, I mean, I love Finn Balor, but it is kind of karma. That's basically what he did to Edge way back when, and now, and now Dominic Mysterio is the longest tenure member of Judgment Day. JD McDonald, they should have played up. They did play up the fact that, oh my god, JD, all that, all that Finn did for you, but they should have really been like, JD, he trained you because Finn Balor literally is the trainer of of uh JD McDonald. So, like, they should have really brought in the history of those two to make it more dastrally, but yeah, the judgment day have finally, finally kicked out Finn Balor, and looks like we are going to get a WrestleMania matchup between those guys. I wonder if we're gonna do with the triple A title, but Finn Balor, he definitely, I mean, Jaden McDonald definitely sided with the Judgment Day, and it was it was a scene to see all four people beating down Finn Balor. Question though, where's where's Roxanne Perez? I know she's injured, but did they ever say Roxanne Perez was injured? Did they ever just, or did she just like disappear like Carlito? Because it's easy to just say, hey, yeah, she's injured and she'll be back eventually. They they said they told us when Liv was injured, but I don't recall them saying that Raquel or not Raquel, not Raquel Rodriguez, but uh Roxanne, Roxanne Perez. I don't ever recall them actually saying Roxanne was injured. Anyways, anyways, so yeah, Finn Balor. That was a good, that was a good segment. This was the best segment of the night. I really did enjoy the Usos and CM Punk at the end, but when it fell flat, that's what kind of ruined it for me and made the the judgment day stuff the best of the show. And you could you could say, well, they couldn't have two beatdowns in one show because the Usos definitely should have beat down CM Punk. Do you want to talk about that now? Let's talk about that now as well. So the ending of the show was basically, basically, uh CM Punk. He was a I think he was about to apologize because he said he was telling to the crowd, hey crowd, I know, I know, I wasn't sure if you guys were gonna like me today because of everything I said last week. And I stooped down to Roman's level, and then the Usos music hit. Earlier in the night, we saw the Usos say, Yeah, we got something to say to Punk, and now the Usos come out and they're mad. This is Jay Uso. He's screaming at CM Punk, screaming, you know, you don't understand. You need to apologize, you need to apologize because you know you you invoked Roman's dad, my uncle, he's dead, you know, he can't defend himself. The whatever you have between Roman is between you and Roman, not my uncle. And and Jay's mad. Finally, Jimmy says, Hey man, hey man, you need to apologize. You need to apologize right now. I respect you, Punk. I respect everything about you, but you need to apologize. And then and then Jim Jay's like, yeah, apologize, apologize. And and then CM Punk says, I'm sorry. And he does, and he goes into history, how how one of the uncles, one of the wild Samoans, that like he he used to wrestle for him, and how he he sat under the learning tree of of them, which is the second Chris Jericho reference in two weeks. But but yeah, so like we get some history and how CM Punk says that he he goes so back with the family, but there's just this one person, just this one person that he just hates and has never respected him, and that's Roman. And then CM Punk goes, I'm sorry. I'm sorry that that you've been gaslit, that Roman is manipulated, that that that your uncle's son is such a horrible human being, basically. And and that's it. That basically a lot that means this is good stuff. This is good stuff because CM Punk, like, he's not lying. If you go back on the channel, I've said multiple times that that Roman Reigns has never once apologized for all of the things that he said and did to the Usos. He's done some horrible stuff to the Usos. I love Roman Reigns, he's my tribal chief, but I'm not gonna like say that he never did some horrible things and he never once apologized. And that's what CM Punk is saying. Now, this is where CM Punk two wrongs don't make a right. CM Punk was like, how come he gets to, but I gotta apologize? He doesn't have to apologize, but I gotta apologize. That's a separate issue, CM Punk. Just because Roman is a jerk to his family doesn't mean you can you have that it is right for you to be a jerk to his family as well. But that said, CM Punk is just like, no, he's horrible. He's been horrible to you, and I apologize that that you guys don't even see it. And that I can't, I don't know who hit him. I think it was Jay. I think Jay laid out CM Punk, which I liked, and then and then it fell apart because then Jimmy just grabs Jay and's like, Come on, let's go, let's go. And I think that was stupid. I think that was stupid. I think they should have just beat down CM Punk right here. I think they should have just, the moment he was hit, they should have been like, uh uh-uh, pause for a second and then beat him down. And you could argue, well, there was already a beatdown earlier in the show with the judgment day, right? Okay, well then just make that beat down with the judgment day next week. That's all you had to do. That's all you had to do. This week, you could just say that Dominic Mysterio was so sad about losing the Intercontinental title that he didn't show up to Raw. That's it. That's it. And then we could have had something else go on in this spot. And then we could have beat down CM Punk here with the Usos because he had dishonored the family. And then next week we could have had the judgment day broke up. I mean, we've been we've been waiting for the judgment day to break up for about 3.8 years at this point. So, like, I think it would have been okay if we waited one more week. This was a really good segment. I love that CM Punk. It feels like he was about to, he was about to apologize, but then once he was so you need to apologize right now, it was like, no, then I'm not gonna. You ever do that thing where you're gonna do something, but then when somebody you don't like tells you to do it, you're like, eh, maybe I won't do it. And that's what it kind of felt like. And I I actually liked it. It's just we needed more. The Usos value family over friends. We've seen it many, many times. And we needed the Usos, the new Usos should have crashed, completely crashed out here. Instead, CM Punk just kind of like he kind of just like looked up at them. And CM Punk honestly is manipulating again. Remember when he used his best friend, Paul Heyman, to get at Roman Reigns? He put Paul Heyman in a horrible position that literally made that ruined a business relationship that Paul Heyman had with Roman Reigns because he was just trying to irk Roman Reigns. Now CM Punk is literally, literally putting his friends that he hangs out with to go to hockey games with the Usos. He's making their lives miserable because he's trying to get at Roman Reigns. Punk knew that Roman wasn't here, so he wanted to, he well, it was he knew Roman would be watching, so he he got his his his cousins all worked up just to pick at the scab of the Roman Reigns CM Punk feud. And but but in the wake, the Usos are now collateral damage. So CM Punk is doing the same exact stuff to Roman Reigns, just in a different way. But but that said, yeah, CM Punk just kind of just stayed there as the Usos backed away. I don't think the Usos should have backed away, should have been a total beatdown. That was the end of Raw. So great segment that ended flat and awkward. Now the rest of Raw was pretty flat all around. I mean, there was good moments here and there, but like just drawn out, just drawn out. We open Monday Night Raw with Adam Pierce, and he calls out Seth Rollins. He's like, I know you're here, Seth, because the vision is here. And so Seth comes out, right? Well, first we get like, you think there was uh too many masked men already? Triple H was like, hold, hold my water bottle. And he's just sent out like 14 masked men, right? And they're all jumping around. We don't know which one's which. It's and then Seth Rollins is one of them, takes off his mask, and it's like, oh, okay, cool. And he doesn't say nothing. And so then Adam Pierce is like, Come on, Seth, eventually they're gonna get you. Eventually they're gonna get you. And like that threat is so empty now because literally the vision is just Logan Paul and Austin Theory. If Braun Breaker was still there or Bronson Reed, maybe, but like though when those two came out and was like, the vision, I was like, this is so weak. This is so weak. Seth is that worried about them now. Seth is still not medically cleared, so he does have to be careful, but still, it just looked so, so weak. Triple H just does not like deviating from his stories. Like, I swear, if Logan Paul somehow got injured, Austin Theory would have just came out tonight and they would have still called him the Vision. Because come come like because Triple H is gonna get Seth Rollins for some Vision member at WrestleMania. Oh man, it was it was awkward looking. But yeah, Logan Paul and and Austin Theory come out. All of the uh all of the vision, they they are all the ninjas or the masked people, they they scatter. You don't know who's who, they they confuse everybody, and then LA Knight's music hits. LA Knight's music hits, and he comes down to fight Logan Paul and Austin Theory. And then it's like I mean, I get it. He he like drove Paul Heyman away, but I would rather I would rather hear LA Knight on the microphone than just have him come down to just fight people. And on top of that, then the Usos, remember, this is the beginning of Raw, the Usos then come down to beat up the vision. So basically, it's like three on one, it's three on one against the vision right now. That's work. I need to quit my day job, people, so I can do this stuff. It's three on two, it's three on two against the vision, who are the heels. Not to mention that there was like 14 masked men a second ago. Like, how is this like interesting? Now, it'd be different if it was like four heels on two baby faces, but no, four baby faces basically, three baby faces on two heels is just not like that's not compelling TV. That's just not compelling TV. And yeah, so then they go in the eventually we go in the back, and when the Usos are go going after the vision, that's when that's when the Usos say, Yeah, we got a boat to pick with CM Punk, and they go after CM Punk. So then we have a gauntlet match, a gauntlet match that goes from 817 all the way to 857. I'm telling you, we just had a gauntlet match on SmackDown, and now we have a gauntlet match here. Triple H writes these gauntlet matches just so he doesn't have to write actual stories. He can he can kill airtime and make it seem like seem like these banger matches are happening, and and by doing a gauntlet match, it seems like you're getting multiple matches, but in reality, we get one long match, so we can just kill 40 minutes of TV, which is lame. We could do so much in 40 minutes, but we have what is it, Lyra versus EO. EO wins. Then we go EO versus Raquel Rodriguez. I'm not a big fan that Raquel Rodriguez has now lost multiple number one contender matches, and now she just lost in a gauntlet match. Not a big fan of that. Uh uh Liv Morgan does come out to to like help her at one point, but then Stephanie Fakir, her music hits. I did like that that Liv Morgan didn't run away, but just went after Stephanie Fakir, and then they fight to the back. This distraction allows Eo to beat Raquel Rodriguez. Raquel Rodriguez, she loses, but she gets her heat back kind of sorta because she's like, oh, I can't believe I lost. And then she crashes out and attacks, attacks Eo. What I really like, this was my favorite. This was honestly my favorite part of the entire, the entire 40-minute match, right? Just full of great wrestling. My favorite part was ironically, no wrestling. So after Raquel crashes out and beats up Eo, who uh what's her name? Oh my gosh, I'm wearing her shirt, Ivy Nile. Ivy Nile comes running out, and she just instantly pins EO Sky. That's smart. Eo Sky just got dominated, so she instantly goes and pins her. No moves, no anything. That's a good character beat. That's good character development from Ivy Nile. Love that, love that. And then Bailey comes out. I did like a wrestling move from Ivy Nile. She did she did the bulldog, the bulldog standing suplex that where all the blood goes to your head. She did it for a very long time on Bailey. I that was really impressive. But Bailey will win, and then Asuka comes out and you know, Kyrie tries to help, but then Lyra, you know, interferes or or stops Kyrie from helping, and Asuka loses. Asuka loses, and now we have Bailey the winner. She's now the Intercontinental Champion, number one contender. We're gonna have that next week on Raw, that matchup right there against AJ Lee. And it's like, uh, cool, I guess this will be like their second time ever fighting each other. Like, I think I think Bailey is the only horsewoman to actually fight to wrestle AJ Lee because AJ Lee kind of left right before the horse women got really popular and big back in the day. So, like, and I know this was some a match that they both wanted, and they're actually like really close friends too. So, I mean, good for them, good for them, but yeah, so okay. Great match, but 40, 50 minutes of just TV when we could have had a lot of stories. We could have had a lot of stories in this, and and we just didn't. We didn't. Danhausen, he did do a curse OG grande americano. He tried to like, you know, it was a funny segment. He tried to get his mask, we get we could get double the monies, and and grande's like, no, you can't touch a mask, that's very disrespectful. Okay, fine, you're cursed. And then I hope that Danhausen doesn't curse every single, every single episode. Now, he didn't curse the Miz on SmackDown, he said, be careful, or I will curse you. He but like I don't want him cursing everybody every single time. I want it like Paul Heyman's. Uh, this is a spoiler, not a prediction. He doesn't say it all the time, he says it enough that it's a thing, but not all the time. I don't want Dan Housen to curse everybody every single time we see him, because I want that curse to really like mean something. But it looks like it does because they kept talking about how Dominic fell fell to the curse, and then when he curses El Grande Americano, when we go to the ring, when we go to the ring, we have Penta. Penta does a great interview. We need to give Penta more interview time as well. He's not like great on the mic like LA Knight is, but like you feel it, you feel how grateful he is to be in the WWE, his passion and his love of the game. That like I want to hear more Penta. I really want to hear more Penta speaking. And then and then Grande Americano comes out. At first, I was like, oh wow, just are they shooting him different camera-wise? But it is revealed that it's the it's the uh the other El Grande, not the OG Grande, which was kind of cool though, because he's wearing he's wearing the OG's colors. So that's implied that the OG, what happened to the OG Grande Americano? Maybe he got jumped, but either way, the curse, it's still 100% right now. And then we have the the tall Grande Americano fights Penta. They fight, and I don't understand this in a way. Penta won, which is like totally acceptable, right? He's a new intercontinental champion. I don't blame them for letting him win. But the thing is, he won clean, and the original Grande Americano and this Grande Americano, they're in the middle of a feud right now. So, like, it's weird that he just beat him clean. You should have had the OG come out, like maybe in a bathtub, a bath uh a bath towel and his mask because he got jumped and his clothes were stolen. And he cost the new Grande Americano the match. We should have done something there. We could have had a story beat there, but but for him to beat him clean just makes their feud lesser now. Because you you get what I'm saying? So that was that was kind of weird. Stephanie Vakir, she did a backstage promo, like uh uh a pre-taped that was actually really good. This was the uh Stephanie Vacir's best, best promo yet. And what I liked about it is she kind of retconned what she was saying in that in the past she was like, you know, you're so privileged, Liv Morgan, and you don't deserve, you don't deserve this title. And I'm like, wait a second, why is she privileged? Because she had she had the best, she had the best equipment. I mean, John Cena, Batista, Randy Oren, are they privileged? Because they also went through the same process that Liv Morgan went through with the the equipment being chosen by WWE. So Stephanie corrected herself and said, and it's not so much that you're not worthy because you had the best equipment, it's because you hide behind people. You could do so much more, you have so much potential, you used what was given to you to become such a talent, and yet you now then take shortcuts and hide and all these things. You you hide behind your friends. So that makes it that that's good, that's good. So kudos for fixing that loophole, that that that plot hole right there, because I was not liking Stephanie by just saying, just because you got privilege doesn't mean uh that disqualified her as as uh worthy, but she wasn't saying that. So like they explained it well tonight. Great promo, great promo. I'm still rooting for Liv Morgan, but they made they turned it around for Stephanie Vakir. They closed, they closed the uh, I don't know, whatever it's called, the plot hole. But then I loved when we cut to the judgment day in the pack. Liv is like, well, at least I have friends. I love, I love that was the takeaway for Liv. Not that I hide behind friends, I take shortcuts, da da da da yeah, is I have friends. So Liv Morgan just so self-centered and and and great. We have an Oba Femi match against against Rusev. I love Oba Femi, but I'm starting to get concerned about Oba Femi because in the because he's a babyface, he almost has to get beat up the entire time, and then and then at the at the last second, he does three moves and then he wins. Oba Femi can do so much more. I'm wondering if we do need to turn this guy into a heel, because as a heel, he could just dominate the entire match. This was a 50-50 match, and right now Oba should just be like dominating, but he can't just dominate because, like I said earlier, when it was like three baby faces on two, it wasn't exciting. And when a baby face like Oba Femi just dominates, it's not exciting. We need to see like does that make sense? Does it make sense? I still love Oba Femi, but I'm a little worried that as a baby face, he doesn't work as well, and maybe we need to turn him heal. Maybe we need to turn him heal. I don't know. I don't know, I don't know. That's the jury's still out with that one. I think that's it. Did anything else happen? We got the gauntlet match, uh Penta, Grande, Kofi. Kofi offered a spot to Javon Evans, and we saw Kofi revert to not not the funny, goofy bad guy Kofi. He was just like, hey man, we got off to the wrong foot. I think, I think, you know, you remind me of me, all these things. And it was like Kofi was back to being like, you know, just. You know, nice guy Kofi Kingston. I think it's all an act. And and let's see where it goes. I don't want, I don't want the New Day to just get beat by single stars. Remember when the New Day got beat by Penta? I don't want Javon Evans to now just beat up all the New Day. So I I wonder where we're going with this, but we shall see. We shall see. Maybe they kick out Grayson Waller and he does join. I don't know. I don't know. Or maybe Kofi turns babyface. Maybe Kofi turns baby face. And then after that, after that is pretty much, is pretty much the final segment, the punk Uso segment that I already talked about. I hope you understood what I was saying about Oba Femi. Like honestly, I love him as a baby face. It's just, he's just too powerful. He's just too powerful. So it's almost like he has to be a heel because I, you know, he's just so powerful. Anyways, there you go, boys and girls. What am I gonna give this raw? The judgment day stuff was great. The the Usos Punk was good until the end, and Stephanie Vakir was great. And I actually liked it, I did like the Oba Rusev match. It's just I worry long-term wise. I'm gonna give this a C. C plus. The ending was too awkward. No, C, C, C. Give it a C. Average, average. And here's the deal we're at WrestleMania season. It should not be average right now. It should not be average. No more gauntlet matches. You gave us a gauntlet match on Friday. Now you gave us one on Monday. We shouldn't have another gauntlet match until like December. All right, boys, all right, girls. See ya bye.