Wrestle Chop: WWE Wrestling Podcast
Step into the ring with Wrestle Chop: WWE Wrestling Podcast, the show for fans who live and breathe pro wrestling.
Wrestle Chop has over 19,000 subscribers on YouTube and growing.
Hosted by the creator of the Wrestle Chop YouTube channel, this podcast dives into the biggest WWE and storylines, breaking down major events like WrestleMania, Royal Rumble, SummerSlam, and more. Expect bold opinions, fantasy booking, show reviews, and deep discussions about the wrestlers, promos, and moments shaping the wrestling world.
From Roman Reigns drama to Cody Rhodes controversy, shocking returns, dream matches, and the future of WWE, Wrestle Chop delivers passionate wrestling talk for fans who want more than just match results.
New episodes drop daily with reactions, predictions, and unfiltered hot takes about everything happening in professional wrestling.
If you love WWE, AEW, SmackDown, RAW, and the biggest moments in wrestling history, this is the podcast for you.
Email: wrestlechop@outlook.com
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/wrestlechop
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@WrestleChop
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wrestlechop1/
X/Twitter: https://x.com/WrestleChop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WrestleChop
WrestleChop Plus: https://www.youtube.com/@WrestleChopplus
Wrestle Chop: WWE Wrestling Podcast
Randy Orton SNAPS On Cody Rhodes!? - Wrestle Chop Podcast
Use Left/Right to seek, Home/End to jump to start or end. Hold shift to jump forward or backward.
Support the Channel through Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/wrestlechop
For business related inquiries contact me at:
wrestlechop@outlook.com
Randy Orton just snapped on Cody Rhodes and the Viper might finally be back in full heel mode on the road to WrestleMania 42. What does this mean for the WWE Undisputed Championship and Cody Rhodes’ path to WrestleMania?
In this one-take SmackDown reaction, we break down Orton’s attack on Cody Rhodes and how it could reshape the WWE main event scene heading into WrestleMania 42. We also talk about Drew McIntyre pulling a fake quit just to ambush Jacob Fatu, the continued rise of Trick Williams, and why Sami Zayn remains one of the most compelling characters on WWE television.
SmackDown had some huge moments tonight but also felt way too long with some flat segments mixed in. This is the full one-take, one-shot SmackDown reaction with raw hot takes from Chop Nation as the road to WrestleMania continues.
#WWE #SmackDown #RandyOrton #CodyRhodes #WrestleChop
Socials:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wrestlechop1/
X/Twitter: https://x.com/WrestleChop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WrestleChop
2nd YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/@WrestleChopPlus
Well, it happened. Randy Orton turned babyface tonight trying to save us from a boring Cody Rhodes title raid. Oh my God. Thank you. Thank you. That Randy. Randy snapped. He he listened to the voices. He attacked. And now we're not going to have five weeks of I respect you. No, I respect you. No, I respect you. Oh, thank God. Randy Orton. Randy Orton. After Cody Rhodes, they have a contract signed, and Cody Rhodes tells Randy Orton, hey man, I get it. You're gonna have to be the apex predator, the viper, the legend killer, all of these things. And then they give a hug, and I'm like, oh crap. EOSky and Rhea Ripley part two. And then Randy just was like, nope, and went psycho. And he was very silent. So this was like serial killer Randy Orton. And he gets really silent and he just lays into Cody Rhodes, makes him bleed and everything. I he didn't put him through the table. I thought he was going to, but he didn't. He puts him like he he he gets him in like the steel steps, right? And Cody's bleeding all over the place. Jelly Roll, who, you know, is Randy Orton's best friend, apparently, from last year. He was in the audience. We'll talk more about him later. But he he he tries to stop Cody and and Randy pushes him down, which I thought was kind of cool. I actually did like that. I wish you would have RKO'd him, to tell you the truth, but hey, you know what? This was definitely a step in the right direction. I am just so happy that there's animosity and and now a feud here, a feud here. And then Randy will come back and hit Cody with the uh chair. You don't really see it, but you know, he hits him with the chair. It's a loud bang because he's still in the steps. He pushed he pushed uh Nick all this down too, so Randy's all in. Randy's all in on this heel turn. And boy, boy, howdy, we haven't had a real heel Randy since 2000, what, 21, 22? Like, it's been a minute. And I actually did enjoy Randy as a babyface, but I'm telling you, I'm telling you, Randy as a heel. Mm-mm. He is so much better. And then he takes the chair that he hit Cody with, he sets it up in the ring, he sits down, he puts the belt on his lap, and he adjusts, he just is like thinking, contemplating on what just happened. Good segment, good segment. This was a very average smackdown, you know. Smackdowns are just too long. If this was a if this was a two-hour smack down, it probably would have been a banger. But because it was three hours, it was just way too long, way too long. And this, along with some other segments, there was some other good stuff, but this segment really just good, good stuff here. I really did enjoy it. And there was a moment in the contract signing, you know, Cody lays out their history, right? He lays out their history, and and Randy's like, he's about to sign it, and then he puts it down. He's like, oh, this was supposed to be easy. It was supposed to be Drew McIntyre. Oh, and then that's when Cody, you know, talks him up, hypes him up, and then that's when Randy snaps. So it looks like Randy, he had made a decision, like he's gonna win this title no matter what, right? And if it was if it was Drew, he would have done what he did tonight to Drew if it had been Drew, and that would have been easy. But but because it was Cody, it wasn't easy for him to just lay in this attack, but he's prioritizing the 15th title reign over his friendship with Cody. So this this was not easy, but it had to be done in the eyes of Randy Orton. I'm you know, it was like I did get vibes of John Cena turning heel last year, but I don't care. You know what? Randy's actually gonna be present. There's hey, there was a there was a singer in the last uh there was a singer in the last uh heel turn as well, but at least jelly roll didn't puncture Cody Rhodes' eardrum, and I think Jelly Roll is not gonna be in this feud, hopefully. And I think it was just I think it was just an exclamation point of yes, Randy's full blown heel here. But yeah, shades of John Cena last year turning heel, not as impactful, of course, because you know that was John Cena, this is Randy Orton, but you know, it's good, it's good because I I want to see it, and I can't wait to hear what Randy has to say. I hope Randy leaves out the all the respect and he's just like, you know what, it's it's it's fine, it's whatever. I'm I am the apex predator and I'm back. I am back. I'm going for 15. I'm gonna make it happen. And yeah, just great stuff right here. Randy Orton, 15, 15 championships. If he wins at Mania, did you know that this is his first title? Yeah, the big gold belt. Not with the brown, not with the brown straps, but this is actually the the first title, the lineage of the first title that he did capture. What was he, 24 years old, I do believe. And if you want to win this title and capture it for yourself, all you gotta do is comment below. I am going to give this belt away, or any other belt if you've seen it on my shoulder at 20,000 subscribers on my quest to quit my day job. All you gotta do, subscribe and comment. That's how I picked the winner. It's not a toy, people, it's a replica. All right, so yeah, that was great stuff. The Randy Orin and Randy Orin and Cody Rhodes stuff. That's how we closed the night. Now, I will say there were a couple other good things that happened here as well. We had uh Dan Housen. He is, I think he has fully now, he has fully, he has fully, fully cursed the Miz. Last week he had said, if you don't shut up, shut up no no no stop talking, Siri. Siri, you're ruining the video, Siri. Alright, so we have um Siri's still trying to listen to me. Quit listening. What are you, the government? All right, so we have Dan Housen said last week, if you don't mentor me, I will curse you. Well, well, uh Miz has fully said, no, I am not cursing you, or I am not mentoring you, so therefore he is now cursed. And then when he goes out to the ring, first off, the microphone's not working. So right off the bat, we know, well, this is the curse that's happening. He calls out Jelly Roll and he says, I want to be your mentor. And Jelly Roll is like, you kind of turn on everybody. And then Miz says, you know what, I liked you better when you were fat. I like that line. I'm surprised they I'm surprised WWE and the sanitized self would do something like that. You know, if this was the Vince Russo, Vince McMahon attitude era, they would have had a bunch of fat people come out at that moment. But uh we then we then he cuts a really good promo on on the Miz after the Miz says, you know what, you know, it's because of me you lost all this weight. Two years ago, when you couldn't get up at SummerSlam, I picked you up. I helped pick you up, and that's a true story, actually. And you can go back to SummerSlam 2024, I think. Yeah, and you can see that, or is it 23, 23 or 24, and you can see the segment of jelly roll is way bigger. But jelly roll takes offensive, and he's like, you know what? I put in all the hard work. I did not like jelly roll at WrestleMania or at SummerSlam last year. I mean, I do, I do though recognize his passion for the sport, his respect of the sport, and I'm not gonna lie, if I was in his position, I would have accepted the offer as well. However, I'm just what did Roman call me? A 30 to 40 year old virgin in a in a basement. You know, being that that is what I am, I can say, yeah, I don't want Jelly Roll in my wrestling, but I do respect his love of the sport. And I gotta say though, I gotta say this was an entertaining segment too. I will give credit where credit is due. And and Jelly Roll does seem to, more often than not, hit it out of the park when he's involved, which I begrudgedly say. Maybe I do like jelly roll in wrestling because every single time he does entertain me. Because not only that, the Kit Wilson comes out. Kit Wilson comes out, and I loved that. I loved it because I wasn't expecting it. It was a surprise. Triple H doesn't surprise me a lot. I was more surprised about Kit Wilson coming out during this segment than I was Randy Orton turning. I didn't see Randy Orton turning, but like you could feel that that it could happen. Anyways, um Kit Wilson comes out, he calls he calls Jelly Roll fat phobic, which is hilarious, and and Jelly Rolls, hey man, I'm like, I'm I like you kind of sort of. And Kit Wilson's like, you mocked me, you mocked me. And next week, next week we are going to have a Kit Wilson calls out Jelly Roll. So it looks like looks like Jelly Roll is gonna have a WrestleMania spot with Kit Wilson. And I'm thinking, I'm even thinking more so, it's gonna be Kit Wilson, the Miz versus Dan Housen and Jelly Roll. I don't know how I feel about that. You know what's worse is that I kind of want that. I don't know how I feel about myself kind of wanting that, but like I'll just I'm I'm just gonna need some alone time to reflect later because like that's like a car crash, and yet it's like I think it might be a good car crash if there is such a thing. And yeah, so then then the Miz will go back later, and Dan Housen's like, yeah, you're cursed, man, you are cursed. So yeah, we shall. That's played up, and it's appropriate. You know, I just did an Easter egg video with Danhausen and the Miz. I forgot to say that the Miz is kind of like the gatekeeper of new talent. It's like if you come from NXT or you're new, you kind of have to go through the Miz. I forgot to state that on my video. Let me know if you wanted more Easter egg Danhausen videos because they're really fun to do. So, yeah, that's that segment was was really, really begrudgingly good. And then we go to the beginning of the hour. The show starts off with Drew McIntyre coming out and just being really mad and getting in the face of Nick Aldous. And Nick Aldous is like, no wonder you didn't want Cody to fight you, because you lost the first chance he got to fight you. And then Jacob comes out and he's like, Don't get it twisted. You know what I mean? I I want you, Drew. I'm the reason you are champion. So I just corrected everything. I don't like that Jacob just kind of dropped his beef with Cody. I mean, those two were fighting like all over the arena at Saturday night's main event, and now and now Jacob is like, I read it or wrong. Whatever. Jacob and and Drew, they get each other's face, but Drew says, Yeah, forget this, I quit. And it's like, ooh, we just it was like two years ago, but but Drew McIntyre, I believe, when was it when CM Punk screwed him at Clash in in at the castle? Didn't he quit then also after that? Or he quit like really soon. There was a moment where he just quit, like within the last like, I don't know, year or two. And so it it really did remind me of that. Regardless, he quits, and it's like, oh no, what are we gonna do? And then Jacob's all mad, and Jacob's like yelling at Nick, but then Trick William comes in. This is later in the show. Trick William comes in, they have a thing, they talk, and it's like, all right, let's have you two fight each other now. And so we're gonna have a matchup between Trick and Jacob. And this match was good, was good. This should have been the only really long match on the show. We had a couple tag team matches, we should have really shortened those, and we should have just shortened every match. You know what? Carmelo Hayes didn't uh didn't defend his title on tonight's show. That was kind of weird, but but this match was was a decent, good, really good show. And I'm really surprised they let Jacob Fatu lose. This was right before the right before the Cody Randy Orton segment, but but Drew comes back and it's revealed that he didn't quit. He attacks Jacob Fatou and allows Trick Williams to win. So like Trick gets the win, Jacob is protected, and then Drew beats him up more. Now, surprisingly though, uh, we're gonna do Drew versus Jacob next week on SmackDown. Great, but that seems like that is the go-to WrestleMania match because now for sure it's gonna be Cody and Cody and Cody and Randy because there's no need for it to be a four-way because you know they don't need adversaries now. Randy is the adversary, so so Drew and Jacob next week is probably just gonna be a double DQ. Sorry. Yeah, it's late, and I'm drinking Red Bull. Red Bull doesn't even affect me anymore. So, but yeah, good stuff here. Trick gets the win, and Jacob protected, and now we have a good solid feud for those two. And then everything else that happened was just kind of so-so. And when I say it like this, when I say all these things that happened, it does seem like a banger smackdown episode, doesn't it? But again, just everything's too long. I'm giving you the highlight reels. If you were to go and and condense everything I just said into a 20-minute clip, that would be like that'd be a banger 20 minutes. But like when you have to stretch it out over three hours, then it becomes a little laborious. We have oh so okay, so the the never-ending feud for the lantern happened, solo and tomatonga versus uh the Uncle Howdy and Uncle Howdy and the the tall one, Eric Rowan. And it's like what I don't get this feud at all. Now we we've already done haven't we already done we've done the five on five, we've done the leaders fighting each other, now we're doing the leaders and the tall ones fighting each other. They've already beat each other for the tag belts. What's left? What is left of this feud that has been going on since a month after SummerSlam last year? And for the third time or the fourth time, I've lost count. Literally lost count. The Wyatt's at one point get the lantern, and they're like, yay, we got the lantern back, and then and then the MFTs beat up the person who has the lantern, and they take it and like haha, we got the lantern back. And then Solo ate the pin. Like, dude, this guy, this guy was like, he was nose to nose with Roman Reigns on the first episode of Netflix, and now like he can't even beat the Wyatt's. Like, I don't I don't understand. I don't understand what's going on. Are we gonna have like there's just there's just no reason for that to tell you the truth? My my thing's screwing up. Give me a second. Then we have uh Shinsuke did try to talk Tamatunga, like, hey man, what are you doing? Which is also weird because those two, Tamatunga and Shinsuke, already had a matchup like two or three weeks ago. So we're it's like, why give us that match? Have a definitive winner of Tamatunga for Shinsuke to continuously be in his ear saying, hey, you need to do better, you need to do this, you need to do that. It's like we've already we've already seen the payoff, the final match between those two. Excuse me. My my thing's all messed up. But honestly, I've already told you all the good stuff. Damien Priest, R Truth, they fought Largaza. I really like Largaza. I wish they would give get more stories. I think they're really fun to watch in the ring. I think they do have personality, they just haven't been given upper opportunities to shine with it. So like I wish Largazza would get more. But Damien Priest and Damien Priest and R Truth, they did win. You have the Charlotte and Alexa, they come out, but then the Bellas come out, and the Bellas are like, haha, we're the next, we're next in line, which makes no sense. Because, like, A, we've had the women's tag team division has been stacked and full of teams. The Bellas have done nothing. Literally, the Bellas have appeared twice on TV before becoming number one contenders. And their two appearances was once in the Royal Rumble when it's every woman for themselves, so they weren't even a tag team. And then the next night on Raw, or two nights later on Raw, they say, Hey, we're here and we're we're in the we're coming for the belts. Then we don't see them again. So they never won a match, they had not anything since coming back. And now they talk to Nick all this, and he said, You can be the number one contenders. That makes no sense whatsoever because it's like, you know, if he was a heel GM, then the Bellas only have to flirt with him. And it's like, okay, yeah, you can be you can be number one contenders, but why would the Bellas deserve? And I'm not hating on the Bellas, I anybody, anybody like this, why do they deserve a tag team title match? Because like they've done nothing since since coming back. Like, they've had two appearances, and and none of them wrestled as a tag team. And then the uh irresistible forces, that's what they're calling Naya and Lash, they fight. At some point, they they like throw Nikki Bella, but Brie Bella, and then take their collateral damage in the matchup, and then they will win. They will no no no that makes the bellas mad, right? Sorry. That makes the bellas mad. They go for they they are getting, I think Nyan or or Lash is about to get twisted blissed, but then one of the bellas just comes in and starts beating up the person that's about to take the pin. And it's like, oh, DQ, DQ. So that was kind of lame. That was kind of lame, but at least we didn't take the titles off the irresistible forces right away. But it does look like we're we're headed towards like some kind of triple threat match or maybe a TLC match at mania. But yeah, right now I think we need to do more to establish the Bell is deserving a title shot in a tag division that has been red hot. I don't like a red hot tag division, and then suddenly some veterans coming in and trying to steal steal the spot. Sami Zayn was good throughout the night too. I did like Sammy Zayn. He goes up to Cody and and he's like, Cody, for what it's worth, I want you to win. And then Cody's like, uh, didn't you say this to Randy last week? And then and then and then uh Sammy's like, oh, you know, it's like I respect Randy because you know, he's like, I respect Randy. But you I are he said I look up to Randy. I look up to Randy, but I don't look up to you because we're friends and and we're supposed to be equals. And then Cody's like, I look up to you, even though we're friends. And so uh uh Sammy's continuously crashing out, and Cody's like, what do you want, dude? Do you want a championship match after? Because you'll get one? Like, what are you doing here? And then Cody will eventually leave, and then Carrie and Cross, I mean Alistair Black comes in with Scarlet, I mean uh Selena Vega, and they basically say, Yeah, I mean, what do you what do you got going on here, dude? You know, they're trying to tempt him to the dark side. Later, we'll also see Sammy get in Trick's face and say, uh, I guess did you call me Mr. Can't get the job done? Where are you at, man? You lost the chamber, you lost Rumble, where are you at? Well, you know, where he at? He's beating uh Jacob Fontoo, so boom, there you go. I think we will get Sammy versus, I think I'm still thinking Sammy versus uh uh uh uh Trick at WrestleMania. But who knows, maybe Trick versus Mello, I would actually love that even more. And Sammy versus Black. Could be, could be. We did see Carmelo Hayes, he did talk to Ilya Dragonoff, and whatever's going on with Ilya Dragunoff, I've I I'm not interested in this guy right now. I'm sorry, I know he has a very passionate, a very passionate fan base, but for him to just be like, yeah, my I'm I'm I need to I need to win for my mom, and I'm not gonna fight. I don't, I'm doing this for me, I'm not fighting for me. I don't know. It's it's it's I'm just not feeling it. So hopefully, hopefully, whatever, whatever the uh endgame is here, hopefully I start feeling it soon. Did anything else happen? Excuse me. Uh Tiffany Stratton came out talking. She was like walking to the ring and she was talking, and then uh Chelsea Green got in her way, and then she just pushed her. I thought that was funny. So Chelsea versus Keanu James, or not Chelsea, Tiffany versus Keanu James, and yeah, just shenanigans and eventually Tiffany wins. It looks like Tiffany, looks like we might have a triple threat, Tiffany, Chelsea, and Julia for the women's US title. I don't hate that. I don't hate that. I think they could do a little more right now, but there you go, there you go. I think that's pretty much it. If I'm forgetting something, it's not it's not anything worth it. But the uh the real story here is Drew and Jacob, Trick still rising, and of course Randy Orton returning to his evil ways. Randy is just so much better as a heel. Very happy for that. I'll give this, I'll give this back down, I'll give it a B minus. You know, it was very, very like lackluster, but when it when it hit, it hit. It was like, it would almost be like, you know, just a shot of adrenaline, and then it would just, you were like, it would down, down, down, down, and just flatline, but then boom, boom, it shot back up in these moments. So there you go, boys, there you go, girls. Let me know in the comments below what you think. And hot takes tomorrow. See ya bye.