Wrestle Chop: WWE Wrestling Podcast

Is WrestleMania 42 Actually Interesting? - Wrestle Chop Podcast

Ken - Wrestle Chop

Use Left/Right to seek, Home/End to jump to start or end. Hold shift to jump forward or backward.

0:00 | 19:47

Send us Fan Mail

Support the Channel through Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/wrestlechop

For business related inquiries contact me at: 
wrestlechop@outlook.com

WrestleMania 42 is almost here… but how strong is the hype really?

In this video, we break down the hype level for every major match heading into WrestleMania 42 and see what’s actually hitting… and what’s not.

From Roman Reigns vs CM Punk to Cody Rhodes vs Randy Orton, this card is stacked on paper. But does it feel as big as it should?

We’re looking at potential matchups like Oba Femi vs Brock Lesnar, Jade Cargill vs Rhea Ripley, Becky Lynch vs AJ Lee, Trick Williams vs Sami Zayn, and the chaos surrounding The Usos, Jacob Fatu, and Drew McIntyre.

We also dive into where Seth Rollins, Bron Breakker, and even Danhausen fit into the WrestleMania picture.

Match by match, we’re breaking it all down and asking one simple question… where is the hype?


Socials:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wrestlechop1/
X/Twitter: https://x.com/WrestleChop
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WrestleChop
2nd YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/@WrestleChopPlus

Support the show

SPEAKER_02

But I have always been proud to be your boy.

SPEAKER_01

The hype level four Roman Reigns CM Punk off the charts. Brock Lesnar and Opa Femi boy howdy. I am salivating at the prospect of watching that match. But is that enough? And that's what we're going to talk about today. How hyp are we for the showcase of the immortals? It's about four weeks away. So we're going to go over the storylines today. See if if this is enough. If WrestleMania 42 is going to be a good card, or is it just going to be a couple good main events? Let's start off. Let's just start off with Oba Femi Brock Lesnar. Five out of five. I am I am very much hyped for this one. Now, I do not think that just coming out and beating someone up constitutes as a story. However, it's like this is the exception because it's almost like two dudes trying to determine who the alpha is of WWE. Is it the old guard in Brock Lesnar or is it this new cub in Oba Femi? And so, like, I don't mind these two beasts just going at it. It's like Godzilla and like robot Godzilla just duking it out. In fact, this might be my most hyped match of of all of WrestleMania, if I'm being honest. And my second would be would be CM Punk and Roman Reigns. I'm picking you because I hate you. I was a little worried with so many back and forth promos if the the material was gonna get stale, but I'm enjoying it. Last week we had the tribal chief Roman Reigns. He finally attacked CM Punk, but CM Punk laughed it, laughed it off, just like the week before when Roman laughed it off. So definitely mind games going on. But now that we got bloodthirsty Roman, the tribal chief, it's like, uh oh, all bets are off, but not so much. The the intrigue of where this goes because CM Punk has now planted seeds. Jay Uso's head so much that Jay was ordering Roman what to do. Will Roman look past that? Or will he now turn his attention to Jay and say, hey man, don't ever tell me what to do again? They have me intrigued. So Roman, CM Punk, they have the history, they have the promos. All right, five out of five on the hype ometer. A matchup that has one out of five on the hype meter is Jay Cargill and Rhea Ripley. Now I am a Jay Cargill fan, I really am. And I'll say this: I was more hyped for this match when they were beefing Twitter.

SPEAKER_00

All you seem to do is talk, and that's literally it. And this is when Cargill appeared to step over a line. Talk? Like the hours you spend talking to creative. Rhea Ripley drew a line under this on her Instagram stories, finally posting, not having fun, not friends, learn to work and never lie to defame someone's real human character by breaking the fourth wall.

SPEAKER_01

And so I very much was looking forward to them getting in the ring and kind of airing out their dirty laundry, but no, instead they started talking about their muscles. And now, and now their whole feud is just uh based around the B word. You're the B word, I'm the B word, I'm gonna make you my B word. It's like, yeah. In fact, the most interesting development of their feud so far is Jade Cargill added added the the two lowest women on the on the roster, B Fab and Meechum, to her side. And the most unfortunate part of the whole situation is this match was was probably supposed to be Jade and Bianca, but Bianca is still out from last year, breaking her knuckle. I hope Bianca gets back soon because I would love, love, love to see Bianca versus Jade for a WWE championship. And if you want to win this WWE championship, all you gotta do is comment below and subscribe to the channel. 20,000 subscribers. I'm gonna give it away on my quest to quit my day job. So we're only under under 300 to go. So subscribe, comment, you can win this belt. Not a toy, but a replica. All right, let's do uh Trick Willie, Trick Williams and Sammy Zane. Let's talk about it. This storyline isn't like the greatest of all time, but I love the character work that is going into it. Sammy Zane and him kind of crashing out and slowly inching towards the dark side, and Trick Williams just completely full of himself every single time Trick gets on the microphone. He so reminds me of The Rock from way back when. I would say I am one, two, three, four hyped for this matchup just because of their character work. I'm just really looking forward to seeing how Sammy reacts after Trick Williams, a rookie, beats him, and how Trick reacts to him winning at WrestleMania. So, like, I'm really very much interested in this match right here. I'm not hyped about Becky Lynch and AJ Lee once more. This is their fourth time meeting. We had WrestlePalooza where where AJ won. We had uh War Games where AJ submitted Becky Lynch, and then we had a one-on-one last month where AJ Lee won again. So now this is the fourth time, and not just the matchups, but even on TV, it seems like AJ Lee is always getting the better of Becky Lynch. Every once in a while, a sneak attack, Becky can beat up AJ Lee. But for the most part, AJ Lee, the babyface, has always had the upper hand on Becky. Becky's always been afraid of AJ Lee, and AJ has always won. I love Becky Lynch, she's the best in the world. That's not just me saying it either. That's more illustrated in Bleacher Report. And I say it, but like when it comes to this feud, yeah, not feeling it. Grande Americano versus Grande Americano. We got OG versus tall grande. And this one's a little difficult because I I actually love the Grande Americano story. I love the fact that this guy was blacklisted back in the 90s and actually, you know, came out of retirement and is having such a renaissance, a renaissance for his career. But the thing about it is uh I kind of feel like they're not doing a much with it. Now, in in triple A, the the lucha libre promotion that TKO owns, well, they're doing great stuff. But in WWE proper, Monday Night Raw, it seems like all they're doing is I cost you the match this week, and next week you cost me the match. I'm not really feeling the grande story in WWE for this match on WrestleMania. I don't have much hype for it. I'd probably say a two, but because I know that that match is gonna be such a banger, and I'm I actually like the characters, I'm gonna put my hype at a three. But if I were watching this feud on a triple A pay-per-view PLE, it would probably actually be at a five. Stephanie McCure and Liv Morgan, I thought it was better in the beginning of their feud when Stephanie was calling out Liv saying, you know, you had everything handed to you, and and Stephanie was like, I had to fight my way to the top. And said, and it's not so much the fact that you had the WWE machine behind you, it's the fact that you had the WWE machine behind you, and you are still, you are still a coward hiding behind the judgment day. But since that, since that, it's kind of just become, I'm going to attack you this week, you're going to attack me next week. Everyone just brawls. Do more, do more. And Liv, for her part, I really like her character. So I like how she laughs. I like how when Stephanie said, You hide behind your friends, and Liv just brushed it off, said, Well, at least I have friends. The match is gonna be great. And I think I'm giving it a three based on the beginning of the feud. It would have been a four if they would have continued it. But yes, three right now because of the beginning of the feud and Liv Morgan herself. Let's quickly talk a couple people who I think are gonna be on the card that haven't been announced yet. Gunther, right here, Gunther. I did a whole video yesterday about Gunther, and for the most part, I gotta give it a one. I'm not interested at all in this Gunther character right now. The guy who tapped out John Cena and and AJ Styles and some other guy, it's like they have totally dropped the ball, in my opinion. I get it. If if if Rey Mysterio was his picked opponent and Ray is out with injury, well, then you pivot. You come up with something else. LA Knight, yeah. I I I'll give I'll give LA Knight a two, maybe three, because I think we're leading towards the direction of LA Knight versus J Uso. I kind of want to see that because I uh like the idea of LA Knight cutting promos on the bloodline. Honestly, I I want to see LA Knight be really just unleashed on the microphone. If he fights Jay Uso, it instantly becomes a three. Maybe even four, because I like crash out Jay Uso. A matchup that I could see either happening at WrestleMania or the Monday before WrestleMania is Javon Evans and and Kofi Kingston. There's at least a little bit of a story there, but honestly, the uh the real story is the passing of the torch. It's almost like Oba and Brock, but just with the high flyers. Honestly, like that's just a natural story to tell. You don't need a lot, you just need to not mess it up. And the matchup itself will sell it. I usually want a little more, but not with them. Given the opportunity, they could 100% steal the show. Absolutely steal the entire weekend, actually. So I'm gonna give it a five. I'm gonna give Kofi and Javon a five. Seth freaking Rollins versus Paul Heyman. Actually, if that was the matchup, it'd be a five. But honestly, it's probably gonna be Seth versus Braun Breaker. I'm gonna just give this one a pass. I don't know if Seth is gonna be okay to wrestle. I don't know if Braun Breaker's gonna be okay to wrestle. Maybe they do the thing where they can't really wrestle. So, like, you know, Braun Breaker gets in the ring and Seth Rollins just brings a bunch of masked men in and Braun Breaker just spears everybody. And then, right as Braun is getting up from a spears, curve stop one, two, three, it's gonna be a lot of smoke in mirrors. And I stole that idea kind of from uh culta holic. So I'm gonna give it no hype. However, however, I could like if we just had a straight up match, Seth Rollins versus Braun Breaker, I I could probably give it a three or a four no matter what. It's just because of all the circumstance around the vision and how horribly they've been booked, not to mention all the injuries they've suffered, and has definitely diminished my hype for all the characters involved in this storyline. But again, it's not their fault. All right, let's talk tag teams. Damian Priest and R truth versus anybody, I probably wouldn't be that hyped about for real. Like, I just I don't know. I feel like they were just kind of a thrown-together tag team, anyways. When it comes to the tag team titles on Raw, I think the vision will hold the title. I think they win at Madison Square Garden next Monday. So the vision, I again, this whole everything that revolves around the vision, I'm just not that interested in. And I would say, unless the vision faces the Lucha brothers, no interest at all. I don't care who they fight, they have a rematch against the Usos, I wouldn't care. I only want to see the Lucha brothers together. They're the only tag team that would hype it. If I if I get the Lucha Brothers at WrestleMania, that is a hype of four no matter what, and that's just because I love the Lucha Brothers as a team. Now, the women's tag team division has been on fire for pretty much like a year, a whole year. It really never never diminished. But the thing is, I think it was at its height, its peak, when it was Rhea and EO, Rhea and EO, and people were gunning for them. And because they are no longer even part of the tag team division, I'm just not, I'm like, I don't know. I I I kind of wish they wouldn't have split them up and and they would have walked into mania with the titles. So I'm gonna say, and I love Lash Legend. I love Lash Legend, I like Nyan Jax, they're great champions, but to just face Lyra and Bailey and Charlotte and Alexa and the Bellas in a uh four corners match, not really excited for that. I'll give it a three because the division as a whole has been great, but yeah, I'll give it a three. Now, if Charlotte and Alexa break up, I'm very much invested in their relationship, and I would I would be like hyped to see Alexa as a heel. So I would actually give Alexa and Charlotte a five, but I think they're just gonna be in the tag team division for this, so that's that's a three. They're a three. If we did Dan Housen and Jelly Roll versus Miz and Kit Wilson, like can I go six? Can I go six? I want to see that match so bad. So, so bad. Like, it would be hilarious. Kit Wilson, him facing off against Toxic Masculinity, Dan Housen in uh in his first WWE match. I would love if he did tequila. And if you don't know, you'll know eventually. And the Miz getting a spotlight, jelly roll. I still can't believe I want to see jelly roll in a match. Go back, go back to last year when I found out he was gonna fight at SummerSlam. I was like, this sucks. What idiot wants to see this? Well, you know what? This idiot wants to see jelly roll at WrestleMania with Dan Housen right now. So that would definitely be a five. Definitely five, six, seven, eight. The opposite of my hype for that match would be the the Wyatt's versus versus uh the MFTs and any iteration, I don't care who it is. One on one, five on five, four on four, three on one on five, I don't care. I do not want to see this matchup anymore. They've been feuding over this lantern since since John Cena was feuding with Logan Paul. Like zero. That is a zero hype. That is a zero hype if that match occurs. So is cousin Jacob Fatou versus versus Drew McIntyre. I'm gonna give it a five. Honestly, anything with Drew McIntyre at WrestleMania, I'm pretty much gonna give a five. I last year he fought Damien Priest, and I was like, this is lame, this is a lame feud. And honestly, it was one of the more interesting ones because of the work that that Damien Priest but but Drew McIntyre put into it. Drew McIntyre puts everything into a feud. He has a lot of good karma in the bank with me that I'm just gonna like I'm just excited to see where he goes. I trust that a Drew McIntyre feud is going to be a good feud. So I'll give that a five. If it was anybody else, I'd probably give it a four right now, which is still good, which is still good. But Drew automatically, I'm just gonna trust that he's gonna make it something special, like he always has. Five. Tiffany Stratton, Chelsea Green, Julia. I think this will be a SmackDown match, but if it if it happens at Raw Great, I would probably give this a three, a three, maybe four, and that goes back to everything relying on Chelsea Green. I think Chelsea is just great and amazing, and she makes almost everything work. So I'll give it a three, a three, but it's solely based on Chelsea Green. In fact, it'd probably be it'd probably be, I'll give it a four. Honestly, I'll give it a four. If it happens at actual WrestleMania, I would be looking forward to it because I would love to see Chelsea Green's entrance. I would love to see Chelsea Green, the woman who was cut from WWE three times, the the woman who Michael P. S Hayes literally said she is not a she is not a main event player, and I would just I would just be so happy for her to get on the grandest stage of them all. That my hype literally to see just Chelsea walk down the aisle at Mania, I'd give that a four. I'd give that a four alone. And it would be a good match. It would be a good match, but it's all about Chelsea in this one. So four, four hype to see Chelsea have have the best day of her life. Finn Balor versus Dominic Mysterio. This should have already happened. I feel like this one has has gone on too long. They dragged it out too much, which has has my hype a little diminished. I'm still happy that we're gonna get it. I'm gonna give it a three. I think this is just gonna be kind of a a match that happens and we forget about it. And and Dominic's long, long WWE career ahead of him will be like, oh yeah, one day he fought uh he fought Finn at WrestleMania, didn't we? I think it's just gonna be it's a logical match for them to have too. So I'm not saying don't put it on the card. I'm just saying, like, it's not gonna really affect if I'm like hyped for WrestleMania one way or another. But if the demon, if Finn busts out the demon and says the demon's coming back, well, then instantly a four, and I'm like, that's a must-see match at that point. And the final match is the night one, most likely, main event, Randy Orton versus Cody Rhodes. And uh, you know what? I'll give it a five. I probably it's probably not the cool thing to do to give Cody Rhodes match a five on your hype meter, but I've never been cool. I'm gonna say this is a five. I'm very interested to see where we go. Randy Orton turned heel. Now, if it was baby face versus babyface, it would have been a two. Honestly, it would have been a two. But when Randy Orton turned heel, that made it, it jumped up to a five. The it's almost it's barely a five, though, because I feel like Cody should have came out last week. Like, could you imagine if Don't Cole Steve Austin got beat up one week and then he just didn't show up the next? No way, no how? But that said, the fans aren't booing. The fans aren't booing Randy Orton. So there's even a slight hope that Randy turns baby face and Cody turns heel finally at WrestleMania. Or we see uh Randy punt kick Cody Rhodes and and becomes the 15-time champion. There's a lot of there's been there's some what ifs in their matchup, and it's intriguing, it's intriguing. Now, if Cody comes out on SmackDown and it's just like good, I'm glad I got evil Randy, and then they don't really like, and that's kind of the end of their like, I don't know, Randy crashing out on Cody and stuff, then I would my hype would go down. But right now it's it is at a five, but there's a lot of ways to ruin this story right here. I mean, I remember when John Cena turned heel and we didn't really we didn't really have a plan for that, and it it quickly just went downhill. I hope we don't do that with Randy. I hope we can we can really lean into their past history. I need Randy to keep crashing out, or I need I need Cody to finally crash out. One of the two. So there you go, boys and girls on the hype meter for WrestleMania as a whole. One, two, three. I'm a 3.5 on the Chop Hypo meter. What about you? Let me know in the comments below. See ya bye.