8AM Podcast with Arlin Moore

Ninjapreneur Priorities

Arlin Season 1 Episode 268

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Imagine being catapulted into a solo Disneyland adventure, while your Ninja gears are still turning at full speed—that's exactly the whirlwind I found myself in alongside Chloe, our nephew Noah, and the family. This episode is an exhilarating ride through personal anecdotes and the vital lessons I've learned as a 'ninjapreneur', showcasing how life's unexpected turns can lead to growth, awareness, and even the delightful chaos of a theme park. Plus, we'll peek into the upcoming week that's chock-full of events that promise to keep the entrepreneurial spirit alive and kicking.

As we wade through the intricacies of networking akin to an A&R rockstar, I'll unravel the art of creating connections that add value and drive business forward. You'll hear how a simple family outing can transform into a powerhouse of opportunity and the sweet sound of success—just like the deal-making tales from our Ninjapreneur group. And for those who appreciate the finer details of business management, there's a segment on the tax perks of pimping out your office space. Strap in for a session that's anything but ordinary, where we connect the dots between fun, finance, and forging ahead in the entrepreneurial fast lane.

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Speaker 1:

Check, check, mike, check, welcome back. Welcome back to the Mindset Design podcast. This is your host, arlen. I am once again in a great mood driving over to my training session with Lou. This day is an exciting day. We have some exciting things happening and I have a lot of exciting topics to share with your mind. Here we go, let's dive into it. Let's just go on the topic rundown so you guys know what to expect for today's episode. Then I'm going to start topic number one. Then I'm probably going to get interrupted to work out, but then I'm going to redo the podcast after that and it'll be really fun and great. I mean not redo, but I'll restart it. It's probably going to be a good chunky episode maybe 30, 20, 30. No, probably about 30 minutes. It's not that chunky, that's a good size. Anyway, let's dive in. Let me just get back into the past 24 hours of everything that's happened so I can lead up to the whole point of this podcast, which I actually think is a very timely, useful and also nuanced and pretty innovative topic that I'm sharing right now. The past 48 hours. Really, let's start there.

Speaker 1:

This weekend I was supposed to have my friend Jordan. Jordan is the founder of Hoobie. Hoobie is a Lincoln bio tool for creators. You guys may have seen in my bio David Dobrik's bio, tom Brady, jay Balvin Lots of very successful creators and famous people use this link. It just is a home for all of your stuff on the web and products and your social media channels and everything. I've been a part of the Hoobie team for quite a while as an advisor and a friend to Jordan and to Cassin and to Bianca.

Speaker 1:

Jordan I haven't seen in a while, but Chloe, my girlfriend Chloe, organized a trip to Disneyland this weekend with Jordan and Bianca and myself and baby Noah. Of course, noah is two years old, two years and one month. Chloe organized it with, actually, her parents as well, because we didn't do a holiday thing like a Hanukkah thing with them because we were on the East Coast with my family. So we decided to do it here. Chloe organized everything and got some presents and all of that, and so I was really upset actually because Jordan, kind of last minute, said that he wasn't able to come. This was on Saturday Today is Monday as I'm recording this but on Saturday he said that he couldn't come and I was really upset because he was basically saying he's going to miss his kids' first time at Disneyland and Chloe had planned this whole thing and it was just sad, but he said it was really important and he had a lot of work to do and so we were like, okay, so basically and I hope I'm doing this shit right basically we end up going to Disneyland and like the present unwrapping was really fun.

Speaker 1:

It was funny because Noah you know, baby Noah has obviously no idea what Disneyland even is. He has no concept of it. He's barely speaking. I mean, he's got some words down and he's like interacting and stuff, but you know, he doesn't know Disneyland is. He knows who Mickey Mouse is, that we gave him a Mickey Mouse stuffed animal, but he doesn't know, you know, what Disneyland is. So when we told him you're going to Disneyland, he had no idea what that really meant. I actually didn't really even know what it meant because I've never been to Disneyland. It just wasn't a thing that I was super interested in as a kid. I was more of like a Nickelodeon and really Cartoon Network type kid. So it just wasn't really something that I wanted to do. So I was like let's go to Disneyland, I'm excited, I'm ready.

Speaker 1:

It's a big week too. By the way, like this week we have, the event with Marcel is four days. There's a free event on the first day and then a paid event in the next three days. I have a client coming in. I'm shooting some stuff with my friend, val, who's like an sorry Val, who's an insane videographer, doing some jiu-jitsu stuff with Jesse. Gregor. Gallagher is coming through. We might do a podcast, maybe on Wednesday or something. Anyway, it's a very busy week and I'm just excited.

Speaker 1:

So we're going to Disney, we go to Disney and the whole time I was there I was like man, this is like the softest thing I ever did. Like go into Disney with my girl, my friend's like baby, my friend whose baby it is. Like he's not even here because he's got to do like manly work stuff, and I'm like yo, I'm just like at Disneyland, like I didn't even watch Disney, like you know, I just I'm thinking, I'm like taking pictures and stuff and I'm like how am I going to twist this into like a cool ninjapreneur type story? But then what I realized like genuinely from the bottom of my heart I mean this like what I was doing while I was there is I was just in complete protection mode. Like I was just anticipating. If there's some kind of psycho killer shooter on the loose at Disneyland or like at every corner we turn, I'd be thinking, like who's the most dangerous person here? Like, are there any threats? I was literally thinking that. I was thinking, okay, this ride goes underground. We're in California. If there's an earthquake, how am I going to handle this? Where's the nearest exit? Like, how are we going to protect the baby? Is there anything that we can eat in case that we have, in case we're stuck here for a few days because of the earthquake? Right, and so you know, I'm like thinking all this stuff. I'm like you know what? Like I guess it's. It's not really that, it's not really that hardcore to go to Disneyland as like a ninjapreneur, like James Bond type guy, but you know it is if you're looking at it in that lens. This is just not really something that you want to take too many photos of and looks a little soft and stuff like that. So so I decide that I'm not going to post anything from that. Get back home around 1030.

Speaker 1:

Jordan arrives after Disneyland. He was bummed, he couldn't come to know his Disneyland, but we then started talking and we started catching up and catching up about all things who be related and Jordan's telling me about like the latest offering, which is this thing called Creator Pass. And just so you guys understand, like, who be has this. So basically there's 50,000 creators using a who be link, like an active who be link in their, in their bio or in their social platform in some way and, you know, using it to like, just show. If you just click my Instagram bio, you'll see what I mean. Just show all your social platforms, all the products that you sell. You know a bunch of stuff on your, on your page, and so who be has all this backend data of like, what pro, like what links consumers or followers of these creators are clicking on. So if I have five links in my bio and the top one is Maxi and Maxi is getting Maxi is a mindset programming tool, right? Or a personal development tool, maxi is getting, you know, let's say, 50,000 clicks per month. That way, that shows who be on the backend data that Arlen is a driver of traffic to, is a driver of traffic to, and I'm trying to figure out. How the fuck do I turn off the front windshield wiper? It's like the most annoying thing that I've ever seen. Um, anyway, whatever. So, so, like, imagine that basically shows Hooby. Arlen is a driver of traffic. Arlen can push personal development products to sales because he's generating 50,000 clicks a month, or whatever.

Speaker 1:

Hooby also can see what creators are asking for for a post. They can see, you know, let's say Maxie wasn't my brand. Let's say I was asking $500 for a post, but I'm generating 50,000 clicks. Okay, interesting, 50,000 clicks at a 1% conversion rate is $500. So actually you probably wouldn't necessarily want to, maybe necessarily want to pay me for that. Wait, $500, 500 times 1,000, is that good? 500 times 1,000 is 500,000. I don't know. I'm a little off on the math, so forgive me. Point being, hooby has very, very, very effective and actionable data for brands looking to market with influencers. That's all I'm trying to say.

Speaker 1:

So I hear that and I'm thinking to myself shit, I know a ton of my friends that have brands that are doing $100,000 a month, $200,000, millions of dollars a month with their products. Why wouldn't you know some of my friends, instead of using Facebook ads, why wouldn't they open up another access channel for Hooby? Like, why would they not do that? So I'm just thinking about it. I'm like you know what? I can rip some sales for Hooby, like I can probably engineer some of these deals with e-com brands or even just by posting on my story or making a podcast about this, where if you're listening, like literally right now, like if you're listening to this and you want to advertise on Hooby, we can get you a better CPM than you're getting on Facebook probably two to three times better CPM. And it's targeted, it's not cold traffic, it's literally. I mean it's cold traffic to your brand, but it's an influencer promoting it. It's not an ad from your company, it's an influencer that's getting your product, that's talking about it organically and then driving clicks. So what I'm saying here is if you have a big brand, you know, hit me up. Now that's beside the point. If you have a big brand, hit me up. If you don't have a big brand.

Speaker 1:

And you're kind of wondering, like what's the actionable insight from this episode here? Here it is. So I woke up this morning and I was trying to figure out what to do. I was trying to figure out, you know, should I, should I? Should I focus on, you know, maxi? Should I focus on building the Ninjapreneur product out? Should I record a podcast. I was trying to prioritize, right, and I was also thinking about making a post about being a Ninjapreneur and like what that means and like what you should be focusing on prioritizing, and I basically just decided, oh, there's Lou doing some, lou getting a little training session in. That's so funny. I've never really seen him doing that. Anyway, I, I realize, and you know what, I might just pause the episode here. This is like before the big epiphany, so so I'm going to pause here and we'll resume later. So, guys, we're back. We are back. Sorry about the interruption.

Speaker 1:

So, as I was saying, I'm deciding what to deciding what to do for my morning or my day. All right, sorry, sorry, I'm back on track now. I'm deciding what to do for my day and you know, I'm kind of thinking about, like the priorities of a Ninjapreneur. And then when I realized this, just looking back realistically, that you know the proper way to really be a, you know, an effective Ninjapreneur is you have to be very, very vigilant, you have to be very vigilant and hyper aware of, like the opportunities at hand and everything that you're doing. And so what I mean by that is like you have to be, you have to be like you have to look at, like everything that's happening in the landscape of your opportunities and you have to make the correct action for the day at hand. Alright, so you know me right.

Speaker 1:

Like I've got so many things that I could do in a potential day. I could record a piece of content. I could record a piece of content. I could end up doing some sales. I could do some sales calls. I could. There's like any number of things that I could be doing on a day-to-day basis. So it's like how do you know what to prioritize?

Speaker 1:

Now, on one hand, I do know that, like business, 80% of what you should be doing as a business owner is sales. Like 80% of it is sales. Another 10% is maybe like content creation, another 10% is product, like working on your product, and then like operations and such. But I know that 80% of my time should be focused on sales. 10% should be focused on marketing. So usually what I do, like my normal day-to-day routine, is I kind of just get in a good energy state, I make some good, I make some content, I get to flow and then I put that content out into the world. And once I have put content out into the world. I start doing sales and I start talking to customers and I start, I start looking for opportunity.

Speaker 1:

Now the Ninjapreneur, as they're building their personal brand and personal brand is a key part of being an engineer and leveraging social media is hyper-vigilant on a day-to-day basis of the opportunities at hand. So at the beginning of this podcast, I mentioned that my friend Jordan is visiting and we had in our living room Chloe was there and Jordan's girl, bianca, and Noah, baby Noah and I'm just sitting there and I'm like, okay, this is not a normal day, this is a different kind of day because my normal routine is a little bit interrupted. There's a baby screaming around, jordan is here and I'm just thinking, okay, where can I add the most value right now? And so I decided to go downstairs. Jordan was in the office room and I decided to start talking to Jordan and just kind of seeing what's the latest on his mind with Hubey and I. Basically, in doing that, I don't really want to reveal exactly what it is, but in doing that I revealed a new opportunity and so a new opportunity to create value.

Speaker 1:

And this happens all the time. This happens partly when you're traveling. This happens when you're interacting with other people who have different businesses, and an entrepreneur is like it's kind of like A&R. In the music industry. There's this thing called A&R, which is basically a way that very well-connected people in the music industry make money simply by introducing artists, producers, people who play instruments, people who make music videos. They have a vast network and they're able to see synergy and vision for a value to be created in the music space, and so that's kind of what a ninjapreneur does Like.

Speaker 1:

For example, I don't teach cryptocurrency, but my friend, daniel has made some very good calls and is extremely knowledgeable when it comes to crypto. So there's been a couple of times where I saw the opportunity to promote Daniel's product and services to my following, and so I'm able to notice that and like that happens very organically as well. You know, like the last time it happened in 2023, I was in Cape Town with Daniel, kind of watching the way that he creates value, and I kind of like observe the whole process and then, like, when the time was right, I presented the offer to people that follow me and my network in general not even my social media followers, but like my own friends and so then I went on to discussing, you know, I mean, I saw similar value with my friend Gavin. So, my friend Gavin, I was literally working with him on getting business credit and on, and you know, increasing my limits for my business so that I can spend more money on a business credit card and literally get into more debt. And I'm talking to him and I'm like you know what this would be another good opportunity from my, from my audience, to hear about. And this it doesn't always happen as like an affiliate deal kind of, where I'm, like you know, pushing introductions to my followers, like I'm literally making money by introducing friends, like introducing two, like one friend who has one business, another friend who has another business. They don't know each other yet their businesses essentially serve each other and fit like pieces in a puzzle and that creates value.

Speaker 1:

And and so, like, the reason I bring this up and why I think this is such a key episode for any like aspiring ninjapreneur is like if I had done my day differently, okay, like if I had, for example, woke up, like been 100% committed to my normal morning routine, 100% committed to my daily schedule, like, like you know, I had to stick to certain like time increments, I wouldn't have had the creative thinking ability to see the value. That was kind of outside my normal way that I create value, which, like, for example, my normal day is you know, wake up, do a bit of morning routine. I usually write for an hour or so, record a live stream, like record a podcast. Then I'll start, you know, checking in with my customers. You know, maybe create some course content and then I'll go and work out and then I'll do some sales If I just like, stuck to the routine, without being vigilant I think vigilance is a really good word Like like just being hyper aware and agile and and not so like you have to flow like water.

Speaker 1:

You know you have to be very aware of opportunity and see it when it presents itself. So I hope that that kind of makes sense and I could. I mean, there's so much of this. This is kind of the stuff that I talk about. The Ninjapreneur group is like how do you structure a deal If you believe there's synergy to be created in two people? Like how do you, how do you like approach that to? You know, get sort of, you know some kind of a commission? This is all like stuff that I've been doing for a long time and and and then I'm helping guys do in the Ninjapreneur group. And if you're interested in that, shoot me a message on Instagram. The password sorry, the password, the password, the just DM me the word Ninjapreneur so that I can sort it. Or like Ninjapreneur podcast and I'll, I'll, I'll reach out to you and I'll see if there's good synergies for you to join up in the group and for us to create value together. One like really interesting case study recently that I'm pretty proud of actually, because I I feel I'm responsible for like literally generating millions and millions of dollars worth of value for this.

Speaker 1:

This success story in my group is I had this guy, his name's J. He joined my group in October. He had a coaching business. The business was doing $40,000 a month and he was stuck at that, that income level. But he had a. He had a pretty large following and I just thought I just told him I was like, dude, like I'm doing significantly more revenue than you. I can show you how to, you know, triple this, at least, probably quadruple. And he was like all right, let's do it. So he paid, we started working together and within the first month, the $50,000, the second month he had $125,000. And then I was like all right, you hit a hundred K a month, let's start building software. And we built a trading bot and that trading bot I helped to market the trading bot as well and come up with the marketing campaign for that, and he ended up Releasing it.

Speaker 1:

He made $50,000 in the first five minutes of the release and he ended. He went on to make $500,000 in profit in the first 24 hours, 24 hours. $500,000 profit after only making, you know, 40 $40,000 a month prior. So 10x return, you know, or 10x increase in sales, which is is pretty crazy, you know, pretty, pretty crazy. So that is something that I'm pretty excited about, pretty, pretty, pretty excited to keep doing.

Speaker 1:

You know, I like creating value for businesses and for, specifically like, creator-based businesses, because that's kind of the place I know very, very well but really any kind of business. You know, if you're someone that Benefits from having more eyeballs on your business, I think there's many ways that I can like help you to find, you know, good flows of customers and All that. So anyway, right now I am going to restoration hardware and picking up a new table to buy to have in my house, and I'm very excited about this table. This table is a very expensive table but you know it's it's restoration hardware and you know it's it's kind of one of those things. It's like a good. I believe it's a good thing to have and so I'm pretty excited for it.

Speaker 1:

So I'm gonna put that in the office. It is a tax write-off, office furniture is a tax write-off and it's gonna be great. I'm excited. So, yeah, anyway, I think that's pretty much it for this episode. I thought it was gonna be a little longer, but you know 23 minutes it is what it is. So hope you, hopefully you guys enjoyed, hopefully you got something out of this and I will Um cordially see you in the next episode.